Thrill me, thrill me

It’s the day after Halloween and I feel compelled to share something spooky. I never was one for murder mysteries in the past but in the last few years I’m drawn to thrillers, the suspense is killing me.

The latest I’ve consumed is Final Girls by Riley SagerFinal Girls by Riley Sager. Where normally I can sniff out an ending easily enough that I convince myself I could moonlight as a private investigator, Final Girls was able to keep me guessing until the very last twist. Now, literary this is not, so you have to manage your expectations, but if what you want is an easy compelling read then Sager provides in full. Quincy Carpenter goes on vacation with a group of friends and after a massacre in a remote cabin, emerges a blood-soaked survivor and one of what the media deems a Final Girl—one of three other murder massacre survivors famous in the media, and not a club she wants to belong to. But, when one of the other Final Girls dies years after her attack, a fiance, Xanax habit and burgeoning baking blog aren’t enough to keep Quincy from falling deep into the mysteries surrounding her counterpart’s death, and her own half-remembered experience in that cabin in the woods. Spooooooky!!

28016509Currently, I’m reading The Girl Before by JP Delaney, which besides having the misfortune to be saddled with yet another Girl title is actually pretty engrossing. I’m only half way so I can’t tell you if the ending’s up to snuff yet, but this suspense novel about a Smart House designed by an egnimatic architect who chooses tenants through an elaborate personality test and interview process and the women who come to live and die in it is really subtley terrifying as you consider the tech impressive and then become somewhat consumed with paranoia as you eye your own phone and all its linked devices. Does the architect kill all the women he rents to? Does he just sleep with them? Is he trying to save them from something? I DON’T KNOW YET BUT I GOTTA FIND OUT!

Maybe you’re like me and one murder mystery leads to another and another and before you know it your nights are sleepless and you’re waking your husband up to show him all the serial killer stories you’ve been Googling for the past two hours.

To end on a bit of a sweeter note, here is Nina as a bag of sugar for Halloween. I stayed up all night and made the whole thing by hand. Someday she will truly appreciate that.

22853050_10101225014972919_2251848983522796658_n

 

Leave a Reply

