The Tent

"Tent at Night" by Karl-Petter Åkesson

(Photo via Karl-Petter Åkesson)

No.

No, I won’t apologize anymore.

Not for loving too much or too fast or for too long or for not long enough.

Not for bleeding my heart into these sheets while you are sleeping and making the bed over the stain.

Not for trading in the currency of my skin and then going bankrupt at your touch.

No.

I will not apologize for the way I make you feel and the battles you wage internally.

Your defenses like state lines. The boundary invisible, contrived.

No.

I will not apologize.

I will camp on the outskirts.

I will bide my time,

practicing pathetic and

staring at my share of the stars.

10 thoughts on “The Tent”

  1. “Not for bleeding my heart into these sheets while you are sleeping and making the bed over the stain” is one of the best lines you’ve ever written. Perfect rhythm in the beginning and end.

  2. ”Not for trading in the currency of my skin and then going bankrupt at your touch.”

    I love it. You are so brilliant little bird. I know lots of people tell you that but I just want to make sure you hear it xox

  3. It’s important to know when to bite down on the brittle edge of apology.

    However. It’s equally important to know when you have absolutely nothing to apologize for in the first place.

Leave a Reply

