Just Leap

We made these plans spontaneously before we were best friends. We shared salads and a similar disdain for our current situation. A thirst for adventure. Some things never change. She was dreaming out loud and I jumped at the chance to tag along.

“I’ve been thinking about, maybe, going to Greece for awhile.” She stirred the lettuce leaves around in their take-away box. “But, I don’t really want to go alone.”

I remember hesitating for a split second, wondering if I was presumptuous to offer my own company. Horrified, for a moment, that she didn’t see the potential in our friendship that I already did. I refused to consider deflecting the conversation, refused to let cowardice and doubt mar another opportunity.

“Me! I’ll go with you.”

When her eyes looked up, startled, and then an easy grin spread on her face I knew I was in it for the long haul this time. She’ll tell me to jump and I will always ask how high. Cap ou pas cap?

That was a year ago. We have been planning for a year, hanging on to this adventure with the crushing grip of a drowning man. Through it all, we had Europe. Now, we leave in less than two weeks. We are both recently single, world-worn, and ready for something magical to happen. Ready to become hopeful, again. I can’t think of anyone I would rather share this with. So glad am I that I took her quiet musings seriously.

I am on the precipice. We are all here on the precipice carefully nudging pebbles off with the tips of our toes. Here’s what I say to that: Just take a deep breath and leap. Some people surprise you with their wings. Their ability to fly.

The secret is we all fly. We just don’t know it yet.

Polly Scattergood – Please Don’t Touch

7 thoughts on “Just Leap”

  1. Yay! Europe!

    What we don’t have in natural phenomena we make up for with, um… culture? Well, I’m not sure what culture’s left in Greece, but it’ll be warm at least! I think the Parthenon is still standing, right?

  2. I know exactly how you feel, me and a couple of friends are making the opposite journey to america in a few weeks time! That one moment of doubt at the start,then goes away once you make that leap of faith and that is left is excitement!

Leave a Reply

