Anatomy of a Drunk Dial: Part 1

The bar is closing. We haven’t managed to meet up with our friends, but a steady line of drinks has numbed the disappointment. 

Friends! I think blearily. Friends are what makes the world go ’round. Friends are cherries on the sundae of life! Friends… I start to lose the grasp on my train of thought as my stomach rumbles. Ice Cream. I am aware of yet another Vodka Water being thrust into my hand. I shake my head “No.” but she insists, so I sip it slowly, wandering off. 

Friends are the people who love you anyway. I think. Love you despite your mistakes. Despite particular mistakes they warn you against, but you continue to make over and over. Friends are great. So then, what’s so wrong with the words? 

“Let’s just be friends” he said. I said. We both said, I can’t remember it’s become hard to focus, memory is slippery. I had the words but now they are slipping around in my head, just out of reach. I should call him, I think. Just to be sure. This conclusion seems the most logical, What could be wrong with knowing for sure? Nothing. People should know. 

“People should know for sure!” I exclaim out loud to the guy standing next to me. 

“What?” He hollers back over the music but I’ve already turned away.

I balance my drink precariously on a fountain near the entrance of the club; another garish addition to the decor. 
I should really stop coming here.

(a throwback post from Nov 6, 2007… about The Crush)

7 thoughts on “Anatomy of a Drunk Dial: Part 1”

  1. Atleast? lol opposed to longer posts? make up your mind.

    Vodka is delicious. Whiskey? Well Whiskey I haven’t experienced very often… beyond the odd Whiskey Sour…

    Now, Tequila. Tequila deserves a whole other post.

    1. I wonder if I can put that on my resume… “Can effectively write as though the person reading is experiencing drunkenness” awesome. 🙂

      I drink just Vodka Water with a lemon slice in it. Keeps me hydrated and I can’t usually taste the vodka…. but soda water? hmm I will try that on Friday and report back. Even if you don’t want me to, I will.

        1. Ahhh the most important point had been left out, until now.

          Mr. Seb: Fountain of Wisdom.

          A novel I’m working on.

Leave a Reply

